'Band of Brothers' is getting a follow up series with Steven Spielberg and Tom Hanks on board

'Band of Brothers' is getting a follow up series with Steven Spielberg and Tom Hanks on board

A follow-up to HBO's limited series Band of Brothers and The Pacific will be released exclusively on the upcoming Apple TV+. The new series will be produced by Tom Hanks and Steven Spielberg, according to The Hollywood Reporter. In fact, all of the producers behind the first and second installments will reportedly be returning for the new series.

Originally developed for HBO, the series, titled Masters of the Air, will be the nine-episode third installment of the hugely popular WWII drama. It is also set to be the first show owned by Apple.

Take a look at this trailer for Band of Brothers:

The global tech giant's new streaming service will rival the likes of Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime, and the yet-to-be-launched platform, Disney+.

"Apple TV+ will offer a powerful and inspiring lineup of original shows, movies and documentaries, including The Morning Show, Dickinson, See, For All Mankind and The Elephant Queen," Apple writes on its website.

It continues:

"The service will be available on the Apple TV app on iPhone, iPad, Apple TV, iPod touch, Mac and other platforms, including online at tv.apple.com, for £4.99 per month with a seven-day free trial. Starting today, customers who purchase any iPhone, iPad, Apple TV, iPod touch or Mac can enjoy one year of Apple TV+ for free. Through Family Sharing, up to six family members can share one Apple TV+ subscription."
"With Apple TV+, we are presenting all-original stories from the best, brightest and most creative minds, and we know viewers will find their new favorite show or movie on our service," said Zack Van Amburg, Apple’s head of Worldwide Video. "Each Apple TV+ original offers its own unique story, fresh perspective, and powerful message — all meant to entertain, connect and inspire cultural conversations."
Apple TV+ launches on November 1 in over 100 different countries including the US and the UK.