Unbelievable moment curious eagle helps golfer land his very first hole-in-one

Unbelievable moment curious eagle helps golfer land his very first hole-in-one

The illustrious 'hole-in-one' is the holy grail for every golfer. It doesn't matter if their your playing at an amateur level or professionally - scoring an "ace" is guaranteed to be the highlight of any game.

However, the chances of actually hitting the ball into the cup in one swing is incredibly rare. According to the National Hole-In-One Registry (which is the "premier worldwide hole-in-one golf registry", don't you know), a hole-in-one is only achieved just once in every 3,500 games, with the average player having 24 years of experience under his belt.

But that doesn't mean mother nature can't lend a helping hand... or talon. This is the spectacular moment a British Columbia golfer achieved the dream, with a little help from a feathered friend.

Check out the unbelievable moment in the video below:

If you didn't see it with your own eyes, you wouldn't have believed it. After making what was already a very respectable shot, the interfering eagle swoops down and delivers the ace.

Speaking to ViralHog about the unlikely event, the golfer said:

"I was playing my first round of golf of the season. Second hole, par 3, I hit my tee shot onto the green. As I walked towards it, a Bald Eagle swooped down and started to take an interest in my ball, trying to pick it up and fly off with it.

"I started recording while 'encouraging' the eagle to drop the ball in the hole. Excitement ensued when he did indeed drop it in the hole for my first ever hole in one.

"Despite the rules of golf saying I need to replace it (which I did and missed the putt), this will still go down as my hole in one story for life."

Sadly, this is the case. Rule 18-1 of golf states that "if a ball at rest is moved by an outside agency, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced.

What's even more devastating is that if the ball was in motion at the time the eagle interfered with it, the shot would have counted under Rule 19-1.

Perhaps this was for the best, as according to Jason Scott Deegan from GolfAdvisor.com, it is traditional for the player to buy a round at the clubhouse bar for all members after achieving the impressive feat. (And I don't think the eagle would have split the bar tab!)